Child Care for Working Families Act

HR 3773 and S 1806

HR 3773 : To amend the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 1990 and the Head Start Act to promote child care and early learning, and for other purposes.


Referred to the House Committee on Education and the Workforce. September 14, 2017

Read the Official Bill Text

The Child Care for Working Families Act would ensure that parents and caregivers pay no more than seven percent of their annual income on child care, and families would pay for costs on a sliding scale regardless of the number of children they have. This bill would also support young children with access to universal preschool, and provide robust investment in the compensation and training needs of the child care workforce.

In addition, the Child Care for Working Families Act would:

  • Create a federal-state child care partnership for children from birth through age 13.
  • More than double the number of children eligible for assistance under the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) and ensure these children gain access to high-quality programs.
  • Help states create universal preschool programs for three- and four-year olds during the school day, and provide a higher matching rate for infants and toddlers.
  • Support the child care workforce through increased training and compensation by ensuring they are paid a living wage.
  • Establish provider payment levels that reflect higher wages and provide investment for scholarships.
  • Improve the quality of care in home-based, family, and neighbor settings, and during non-traditional working hours to support families.
  • Address the functional and access needs of children with disabilities (including infants and toddlers) in child care settings by increasing funding under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).
  • Assist Head Start in providing full-day, full-year programming.

If enacted into law, this bill would provide a “down payment” of over $100 billion in the first three years.

Early Care and Education Physical Activity Social and Emotional Learning

Bill Sponsor

Rep. Bobby Scott (VA-3)

Bill Cosponsors (139)

Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D CA-8)
Rep. Jared Polis (CO-2)
Rep. Adriano Espaillat (NY-13)
Rep. Frederica Wilson (D FL-17)
Del. Gregorio Sablan (MP)
Rep. Brenda Lawrence (MI-14)
Rep. Mark Takano (CA-41)
Rep. Alma Adams (NC-12)
Rep. Marcia L. Fudge (OH-11)
Rep. Gwen Moore (WI-4)
Rep. Lois Frankel (FL-22)
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11)
Rep. Tim Walz (MN-1)
Rep. Jackie Speier (D CA-12)
Rep. David Cicilline (RI-1)
Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-8)
Rep. Andre Carson (IN-7)
Rep. Katherine M. Clark (MA-5)
Rep. Ben Ray Lujan (NM-3)
Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE)
Rep. Ruben Kihuen (NV-4)
Rep. Barbara Lee (D CA-9)
Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (MO-5)
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1)
Rep. Raul M. Grijalva (D AZ-7)
Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-2)
Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX-20)
Rep. Juan Vargas (CA-51)
Rep. Susan Davis (CA-53)
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D CA-34)
Rep. Karen Bass (D CA-33)
Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (D NH-1)
Rep. John Conyers Jr. (D MI-14)
Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (D HI-1)
Rep. Doris Matsui (D CA-5)
Rep. Donald Payne, Jr. (NJ-10)
Rep. Nydia M. Velazquez (D NY-12)
Rep. Alcee L. Hastings (D FL-23)
Rep. Peter Welch (VT)
Rep. Ro Khanna (CA-17)
Rep. Bobby L. Rush (IL-1)
Rep. Pramila Jayapal (WA-7)
Rep. Suzan K. DelBene (WA-1)
Rep. Debbie Dingell (MI-12)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-6)
Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)
Rep. Ann Kuster (NH-2)
Rep. Donald Norcross (NJ-1)
Rep. Joe Courtney (CT-2)
Rep. Jamie Raskin (MD-8)
Rep. Danny K. Davis (IL-7)
Rep. Joyce Beatty (OH-3)
Rep. Luis V. Gutierrez (IL-4)
Rep. Elijah E. Cummings (MD-7)
Rep. Donald McEachin (VA-4)
Rep. Judy Chu (D CA-32)
Rep. James R. Langevin (RI-2)
Rep. James P. McGovern (D MA-3)
Rep. Sean Maloney (NY-18)
Rep. Darren Soto (FL-9)
Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-9)
Rep. Betty McCollum (MN-4)
Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D FL-20)
Rep. Val Demings (FL-10)
Rep. Albio Sires (D NJ-13)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D CA-16)
Rep. Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Rep. Grace F. Napolitano (D CA-38)
Rep. Ted Deutch (D FL-19)
Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA-4)
Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D NY-8)
Rep. Nanette Barragan (CA-44)
Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1)
Rep. Robin L. Kelly (IL-2)
Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney (D NY-14)
Rep. Paul Tonko (D NY-21)
Rep. Frank Pallone Jr. (NJ-6)
Rep. Kathy Castor (D FL-11)
Rep. Tim Ryan (D OH-17)
Rep. Ted Lieu (CA-33)
Rep. Keith Ellison (MN-5)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Rep. Earl Blumenauer (OR-3)
Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-7)
Rep. Jose E. Serrano (D NY-16)
Rep. Richard Nolan (MN-8)
Rep. John B. Larson (CT-1)
Rep. Anthony Brown (MD-4)
Rep. Joseph Kennedy (MA-4)
Rep. Linda Sanchez (D CA-39)
Rep. Jim Himes (CT-4)
Rep. Seth Moulton (MA-6)
Rep. Marcy Kaptur (OH-9)
Rep. Norma Torres (CA-35)
Rep. Jerry McNerney (D CA-11)
Rep. Robert A. Brady (PA-1)
Rep. Julia Brownley (CA-26)
Rep. Dwight Evans (PA-2)
Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-9)
Rep. William J. Pascrell Jr. (D NJ-8)
Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
Rep. Don Beyer (VA-8)
Rep. Hank Johnson (GA-4)
Rep. John Yarmuth (KY-3)
Rep. Dan Kildee (MI-5)
Rep. Elizabeth Esty (CT-5)
Rep. Jared Huffman (CA-2)
Rep. Tony Cardenas (CA 29)
Rep. Chellie Pingree (ME-1)
Rep. Rosa L. DeLauro (CT-3)
Rep. Brian Higgins (D NY-27)
Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (MS-2)
Rep. Charlie Crist (FL-13)
Rep. Anna G. Eshoo (D CA-14)
Rep. Ruben Gallego (AZ-7)
Rep. Maxine Waters (D CA-35)
Rep. Thomas Suozzi (NY-3)
Rep. Peter A. DeFazio (OR-4)
Rep. Nita M. Lowey (D NY-18)
Rep. Beto O'Rourke (TX-16)
Rep. Pete Aguilar (CA-31)
Rep. Michael E. Capuano (D MA-8)
Rep. Mike Thompson (D CA-1)
Rep. Mike Quigley (IL-5)
Rep. Adam Schiff (D CA-29)
Rep. Adam Smith (WA-9)
Rep. Denny Heck (WA-10)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D TX-25)
Rep. Rick Larsen (WA-2)
Rep. Filemon Vela (TX-34)
Rep. Eliot L. Engel (D NY-17)
Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (NY-8)
Rep. Yvette Clarke (D NY-11)
Rep. Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (GA-2)
Rep. John Lewis (GA-5)
Rep. Salud Carbajal (CA-24)
Rep. Gene Green (TX-29)
Rep. David E. Price (NC-4)
Rep. Al Lawson (FL- 5)