Summer Meals Act

HR 203 : Summer Meals Act of 2017


Referred to the House Committee on Education and the Workforce. January 3, 2017

Read the Official Bill Text

This bill amends the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act to redefine "areas in which poor economic conditions exist," where the summer food service program for children may operate, as areas in which at least 40% (currently, 50%) of the children have been determined to be eligible for free or reduced price school meals under the school lunch and breakfast programs.

The bill reimburses service institutions (other than school food authorities) for up to one meal and one snack per child each day during after-school hours, weekends, and school holidays during the regular school calendar. (Currently, such institutions are reimbursed for meals and snacks served to children over the summer months or to children who are on vacation under a continuous school calendar.)

The Department of Agriculture may award competitive grants to service institutions to increase participation in the summer food service program for children at congregate feeding sites through innovative approaches to limited transportation and mobile meal trucks.

Service institutions that are participating in the summer food service program for children may serve up to three meals, or two meals and one snack, during each day of operation. (Currently, this option is reserved for camps and service institutions that serve meals primarily to migrant children.)

Bill text.

Rural Childhood Obesity Federal Funding Childhood Nutrition

Bill Sponsor

Rep. Don Young (AK)

Bill Cosponsors (50)

Rep. Rick Larsen (WA-2)
Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-9)
Rep. Dave Loebsack (IA-2)
Rep. Suzan K. DelBene (WA-1)
Rep. Katherine M. Clark (MA-5)
Rep. Rosa L. DeLauro (CT-3)
Rep. Barbara Lee (D CA-9)
Rep. Raul M. Grijalva (D AZ-7)
Rep. Sean Maloney (NY-18)
Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-2)
Rep. Grace Meng (NY-6)
Rep. Betty McCollum (MN-4)
Rep. Peter Welch (VT)
Rep. Paul Tonko (D NY-21)
Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1)
Rep. Nydia M. Velazquez (D NY-12)
Rep. Tim Walz (MN-1)
Rep. Alcee L. Hastings (D FL-23)
Rep. Marc Veasey (TX-33)
Rep. Niki Tsongas (D MA-5)
Rep. Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (GA-2)
Rep. Gwen Moore (WI-4)
Rep. Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D CA-34)
Rep. James R. Langevin (RI-2)
Rep. Jose E. Serrano (D NY-16)
Rep. James P. McGovern (D MA-3)
Rep. Tim Ryan (D OH-17)
Rep. Mark Takano (CA-41)
Rep. Chellie Pingree (ME-1)
Rep. Louise M. Slaughter (D NY-28)
Rep. Bobby L. Rush (IL-1)
Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-7)
Rep. William J. Pascrell Jr. (D NJ-8)
Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D FL-20)
Rep. Sander M. Levin (D MI-12)
Rep. Jared Huffman (CA-2)
Rep. Mike Quigley (IL-5)
Rep. Joseph Kennedy (MA-4)
Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-9)
Rep. Brian K. Fitzpatrick (PA-1)
Rep. Matthew Cartwright (PA-17)
Rep. Brendan Boyle (PA-13)
Rep. John Katko (NY-24)
Rep. Cedric Richmond (LA-2)
Rep. John P. Sarbanes (MD-3)
Del. Gregorio Sablan (MP)
Rep. Michael E. Capuano (D MA-8)
Rep. Adam Smith (WA-9)
Rep. Ruben Gallego (AZ-7)